Community Living | Coupon | Police Scanner | E-News Signup | Archives | Merchant Directory | Dining Guide
Have a HOT TIP? Call 704-276-6587 Or E-mail us At
Advanced Search
Lincoln Herald | Lincolnton, NC

home : sports : e-sports August 12, 2022

4/30/2016 2:11:00 PM
LC Sports Hall of Fame Has Grand Opening
Scott Cloninger, former Lincolnton High football coach and a member of the 2008 class.(Lincoln Herald Staff Photos by Kirk Herbertson)
Scott Cloninger, former
Lincolnton High football coach and
a member of the 2008 class.

(Lincoln Herald Staff Photos by Kirk Herbertson)

+ view more photos

Lincoln Herald Staff

LINCOLNTON, N.C. – There was a wide range of ages last night at the Grand Opening ceremonies for the new Lincoln County Sports Hall of Fame.  They honored the original founders, they toured the Hall of Fame, talked and renewed acquaintances.

Once located at the Lincoln Campus of Gaston College the now larger collection of sports memorabilia for the hall of famers is housed in an area on the second floor of the Lincoln Cultural Center, 403 East Main Street in Lincolnton.

Hanging on the walls outside the main room for the sports collection are photos of the original founding members of the Lincoln County Sports Hall of Fame, Max Garner, Erma Deen Hoyle and Roby Jetton. Also photos of the 2001 class of the Hall of Fame can be found there.

The Grand Opening last night was only for Hall of Fame inductees and their families, as well as a dinner tonight.

The Hall of Fame will be open now to the public. If you would like to visit the Lincoln County Sports Hall of Fame, check with the Lincoln Cultural Center for hours it will be open by calling (704) 732-9055, (704) 732-9056 or email

Those inducted into the Lincoln County Sports Hall of Fame 2001-2015 are:

  • 2001 – Bob Beal Sr., Norris Childers, Tony Cloninger, Von Ray Harris, Jack Kiser, “Smack” Proctor, Betty G. Ross, Arnold Tarr
  • 2002 – Henry Barkley, Dennis Byrd, Ralph Conner, Joseph Harper, Jerry Sain, John Rex Stuart
  • 2003 – Dr. Necip Ari, Wes Beam, Roby Jetton, Russell “Red” Mincy, Thurman “Jule” Ward
  • 2004 – William S. Barkley, Bob Beal Jr., Darrell Bost, Aaron Lee Boyd, S.G. Gabriel, Lee Kanipe, Bobby Lineberger, Don Powers, “Chunk” Rudisill, Richard Smith
  • 2005 – Bruce Bolick, Ken “Chick” McCurry, Walter “Pooch” Cornwell, Brenda Johnson Hamilton, John “Cotton” Little, Ted W. Goins, Charles D. “Block” Smith
  • 2006 – J. Steven Brackett, Charles Cecil “Brat” Stroup, William “Bill” Goodson, Zenius “Buck” Dellinger, Shirley Gilbert Moore
  • 2007 – Don Cagle, Steve Cherry, Ray Cloninger, Max H. Garner, Steve Herman, Joe Kiser, William “Billum” Wilkinson, Rudolph Young
  • 2008 – Bill Abernethy, Scott Cloninger, Maebelle Aderholdt Earnhardt, Jerry Gates, Terry Gates, Maurice Moore, Butch Ross, Ryan Shelton
  • 2009 – Jay Boggs, Jonathan Brookins, Harold Bynum, Jim Fortenberry Jr., Sonny Taylor, Ben Yount
  • 2010 – Kelly Childers, Marty Eaddy, Johnson “Jeep” Hunter, Craig Kiser, Emmett Michael, Mike Powell, Donnie Vernon
  • 2011 – Mike Cline, Brennan Elliott, Steve Gabriel, Kenneth Herndon, Jim Mundy
  • 2012 – Billy Bridges, Lavell Hall, Paul Haynes, Larry Sherrill, Gene Shuford
  • 2013 – James “Jim” Carter, Jeffery “Bo” Harrill, John Mauney, Michael “Mike” Hollified, James “Jim” Scott, Clyde T. Smith
  • 2014 – Sheila Barker, Johnny Colvard, Mike Harrill, Mark Lackey, Bobby Martin, Wayne Navey
  • 2015 – Billy Baker, Stan Goodson, Butch Richardson, Casey Potts, Michael Littlejohn, Dr. Bill Ward

The 2016 upcoming nominees  to be inducted at a banquet June 25 at the James W. Warren Citizens Center in Lincolnton are Jeff Cloninger, Max Houser, Kim Houser Jenkins, Franklin Lowery, Mark Mayo, Fred McCall Jr., Gene Sain, and Wanda Faye Leatherman Tallent.

Have Us E-mail You The Latest News
Click Here

3 - LC Board Elections - Poll Workers

Your #1 Local Source for News, Sports, Opinion, Obituaries, Religion, Classifieds, Events, Photos, Community, Coupons, and more!

Serving Lincoln, Catawba, Gaston and Cleveland counties including the areas of Lincolnton, Denver, Maiden, Stanley, Alexis, Vale, Crouse, Iron Station, High Shoals and Cherryville.

Not a newspaper, not a magazine, we’re online – on your computer at home or work, on your smartphone… with news and more 24 hours a day, seven days a week, every day of the year including holidays.

1  - Rock Fitness 2021

Reader Comments

Posted: Saturday, April 30, 2016
Article comment by: Fred May

Recommend Jonathan May for HOF. TE for WLHS class of 1981. Played at Furman University 81-85. Part of 3 Southern Conference championship teams.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

HomeNewsState NewsReligionOpinionSportsObituariesExtrasCommunityClassifiedsSubmitLife

Terms and Use | Merchant Directory | Dining Guide
Site Design and Content
Copyright Lincoln Herald, LLC 2011-2021


Software © 1998-2022 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved