Community Living | Coupon | Police Scanner | E-News Signup | Archives | Merchant Directory | Dining Guide
Have a HOT TIP? Call 704-276-6587 Or E-mail us At
Advanced Search
Lincoln Herald | Lincolnton, NC

home : community : education October 29, 2020

10/14/2020 12:40:00 PM
Delta Sigma Members Focus on Legislative Issues & Upcoming Elections

Elaine Boysworth, Communications Chair
Delta Sigman Chapter

LINCOLNTON, N.C. - Twenty-four of the members of The Delta Sigma Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International met via Zoom on Monday, October 5, 2020.  The mission of this group is to promote professional and personal growth of women educators and excellence in education. 

President Kennan Eaddy called the meeting to order and began by sharing thoughts about the school year from the perspective of students at Battleground Elementary.  Elaine Jenkins provided the invocation and Kelly Withrow facilitated an Icebreaker activity, an online scavenger hunt. 

Heather Myers, Legislative Law and Policy Committee chair, thanked members of the committee for their contributions in preparing the program focused on legislative issues and providing information to assist members in becoming informed voters.  There was a special emphasis on getting to know the local school board candidates.  Mrs. Myers began the program by sharing election resources.  She pointed out that 13 individuals are listed on the local ballot as school board candidates, but Stephanie Mullen has pulled out of the race for the “At-Large” seat.  Three incumbent board members are seeking re-election in their respective districts.  Nine other individuals have chosen to run for the open seats.  Of the 12 remaining candidates, eight replied to Delta Sigma’s committee request to respond to the following three questions.  1.  How will you be a positive addition to the Lincoln County School Board?  2.  What is your vision for Lincoln County Schools or what do you hope to accomplish as a school board member?  3.  How will you work with families, teachers, administrators and other school board members to accomplish your goals?

Candidates Robin Bryant, Ann Cesena, Myra Heavner, Mark Mullen, Heather Rhyne, Christina Sutton, and Debra Williams filmed three-minute video clips.  One candidate, Jon Propst responded via letter.  Members viewed the video clips and the letter was read to attending members.  Members were also informed the East Lincoln Betterment Association (ELBA) has created a platform to learn more about the candidates for the Board of Education.  Links to this information will be sent to all members so they can be viewed again or viewed by members who were unable to attend the meeting. 

Additional election information was shared about candidates running for the NC Superintendent of Public Instruction position – Dr. Jen Mangrum and Catherine Truitt.  National and North Carolina education legislative issues were also presented.  National topics included justice and equity issues in schools; use of School Resource Officers in various states, and the lack of amendments to the Students with Disabilities Act.  State issues focused on impact of the COVID relief bill in NC school districts, funding for PPE in schools, and funding dedicated to improving internet connectivity.  Additional information provided included a state provision related to average daily membership in schools during the pandemic, state expansion of the virtual charter school enrollment providing 22 million dollars in funding to two NC virtual charter schools, and state funds appropriated to expand opportunity scholarships. 

President Kennan Eaddy provided time for members to share good news/celebrations and reminded members of scholarship opportunities available from DKG.  During the business portion of the meeting, the minutes were approved and members were asked to think about alternative fundraisers for discussion at the November 12, 2020 meeting.

Members present included:  Frankie Beam, Elaine Boysworth, Katie Crocker, Kqisha Dagenhart, Deanna Dunn, Jill Eaddy, Kennan Eaddy, Libby Fletcher, Rhonda Hager, Sherry Hoyle, Elaine Jenkins, Judy Jones, Brenda Kinney, Wanda Lutz, Sara Miller, Wendy Mosteller, Heather Myers, Abbey Parker, Gayle Reid, Judy Shuford, Darla Stines, Phyllis Tallent, Kelly Withrow, and Shelia Wright.

Have Us E-mail You The Latest News
Click Here

Your #1 Local Source for News, Sports, Opinion, Obituaries, Religion, Classifieds, Events, Photos, Community, Coupons, and more!

Serving Lincoln, Catawba, Gaston and Cleveland counties including the areas of Lincolnton, Denver, Maiden, Stanley, Alexis, Vale, Crouse, Iron Station, High Shoals and Cherryville.

Not a newspaper, not a magazine, we’re online – on your computer at home or work, on your smartphone… with news and more 24 hours a day, seven days a week, every day of the year including holidays.

To Make Sure You Always
Get The Latest Updates,
If You Haven’t Already:

Like Our Facebook Page and
Click On SEE FIRST at

Also Follow Us On Twitter 

5 - Myra Heavner - School Board

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

HomeNewsState NewsReligionOpinionSportsObituariesExtrasCommunityClassifiedsSubmitLife

Terms and Use | Merchant Directory | Dining Guide
Site Design and Content
Copyright Lincoln Herald, LLC 2011-2019


Software © 1998-2020 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved