Community Living | Coupon | Police Scanner | E-News Signup | Archives | Merchant Directory | Dining Guide
Have a HOT TIP? Call 704-276-6587 Or E-mail us At
Advanced Search
Lincoln Herald | Lincolnton, NC

home : community : education June 29, 2022

5/13/2022 7:26:00 PM
Catawba County Schools 'Of the Year' Awards
+ view more photos
Vanessa Perry, St. Stephens Elementary, Teacher of the Year with Jay McFarland of Mike Johnson Toyota

Catawba County Schools

On Tuesday (May 10th), Catawba County Schools celebrated its employees in their “Roll Out the Red Carpet” event at CVCC's Tarlton Complex. The gala-themed evening featured student “paparazzi” from across the district and backdrop photos along the star-studded entryway. Specialty desserts were provided by the culinary arts programs at Bunker Hill and Maiden High Schools.

Hannah Haskins, 2021 Catawba County Schools Teacher of the Year, expressed gratitude to the attendees for their hard work and dedication, as she ended her year representing the district, “The most important thank you… goes to each of you here that show up for kids every day. Thank you for allowing me to represent you in this role for a year. Thank you for the tireless efforts you put in. Thank you for your passion, energy, and heart. This district is an incredible place to be because of each of you. So tonight, as we come together to celebrate our “of the years,” I hope we each take the time to feel celebrated and feel the appreciation and joy that surrounds this event.”

Superintendent Dr. Matthew Stover announced Vanessa Perry, St. Stephens Elementary School, as the Catawba County Schools 2022 Teacher of the Year. She was selected in a rigorous process from a field of 28 candidates representing each school in the district. Mrs. Perry received a $500 award from the Education Foundation for Catawba County Schools, a crystal apple provided by Horace Mann, and the one-year use of a 2022 Camry SE courtesy of Mike Johnson’s Hickory Toyota.  Mrs. Perry will now represent Catawba County Schools at the regional level.

Dr. Rene Spry, Oxford Elementary, was named the Catawba County Schools 2022 Principal of the Year. She received a $500 award from the Education Foundation for Catawba County Schools. She will also represent Catawba County Schools at the regional level.

Other top winners of the evening included:

  • Elementary Teacher of the Year: Hannah Maness, Blackburn Elementary 
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year: Anissa Wall, Challenger High School
  • Beginning Teacher of the Year: Madison Baker, Catawba Elementary School
  • Counselor of the Year: Patricia Johnson, Balls Creek Elementary School
  • Media Coordinator of the Year: Holly Poovey, Arndt Middle School
Each of them received a $500 award provided by the Education Foundation for Catawba County Schools and a crystal apple courtesy of Horace Mann.

The following award recipients were celebrated at an earlier date, but were recognized at the evening’s event:
  • CCATA Teacher Assistant of the Year: Brittany Brown, Lyle Creek
  • Elementary School Educational Office Professional of the Year: April Herman 
  • Licensure Specialist Educational Office Professional Administrator of the                                Year: Rae Thompson, Asst. Supt. of Human Resources

1 - Court Street Grill 300

1- Jackie Dameron Farm Bureau

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

HomeNewsState NewsReligionOpinionSportsObituariesExtrasCommunityClassifiedsSubmitLife

Terms and Use | Merchant Directory | Dining Guide
Site Design and Content
Copyright Lincoln Herald, LLC 2011-2021


Software © 1998-2022 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved